Domain Name Appraisal Scam - Still Going? Are You Kidding Me...?
By badmin on Aug 14, 2011 | In Domain Name Tips, Domain Scams and Rip offs | 18 feedbacks »
On www.Namepros.com I was just contacted by someone who fell for the Domain Name Appraisal scam. This is an old scam at this point, but for some reason it is still working. The way it works is that someone contacts a domain owner and says they want to buy one or more domains and pay a LOT of money for them. They want to be sure of the value however, so they ask that the owner get a "manual appraisal" and say they will pay even more if the appraisal is higher. They provide some information and links to sites that seem to confirm that the company THEY WANT YOU TO USE is valid. Very often it's http://certifieddomainvalue.com/appraisal.htm.
What happens to the seller is that they get the appraisal and pay for it, but then when they contact the buyer they are no longer interested, or make some other excuse to not buy the domain name. The seller just got tricked into paying for a WORTHLESS appraisal they did not need or want. And yes, the appraisals are worthless.
If you are able to avoid this scam, you are lucky as many smart people have been tricked and many would never fall for other types of scams.
But if you do get tricked, don't be too ashamed to fight back. We have found that if you provide all the emails the scammers send you and contact the payment processing company, that they WILL issue you a refund. If they don't, please contact us and we can try to help. Because we don't know if the appraisal company is the scammer or not, we can accuse them of this crime. But we can tell the payment company about it and they should give the money back.
We have contacted http://www.certifieddomainvalue.com about this scam and asked them to warn all domain sellers that have been asked by a buyer to get an appraisal. They have refused so they are either behind the scam or don't mind that people are being ripped off. Even if they are not scammers they should not be used for anything.
Don't EVER pay for an appraisal or other service because a potential buyer asks you to. You will only lose money in a scam.
If you read this post and see a number of comments that defend this appraisal company, you should know that they do go to forums and blogs and try to defend what they are doing with fake posts and different user accounts. I generally leave these with some comments of my own because they show how pathetic they really are...! :-)
18 comments
http://www.CertifieddomainValue.com/
as well as: Muller muller@brandnameservice.com
Andy Muller President
Brand Domain Name Services LLC
Editor:
CertifieddomainValue.com is a well known appraisal site that still does not warn people about this scam when people contact them. For that reason we suspect they either don't care or they may be connected with the scammers.
brandnameservice.com or brand name service is one of several domains that when you try to go there they forward to a hosting company at webhostingclue.com web hosting clue. What the scammer is doing is using the domain just to send their scam emails. If one get's closed down then they have others they use.
NEVER PAY FOR A DOMAIN NAME APPRAISAL BECAUSE A BUYER ASKS YOU TO, NO MATTER HOW MUCH THEY SAY THEY WILL PAY YOU! They will not buy any domain name you pay to have appraised.
[ Thanks for your comment, as pointless and meaningless as it is. :-) It's funny to hear a blog comment spammer like yourself say something critical when you function primarily as a parasitic pustule spewing pathetic prose to promote your pap.....! ]
=================
Hello,
We are going to purchase your domain name.
Our company is in hosting and domain name business.
Please email us your desired price in USD or euros for the domain name in the subject line.
If you have other names for sale please email us your domains with prices.
Looking forward to doing business with you.
Regards,
Anthony Taller
Vice President
Brand Name Services Inc
=================
They are quite confident "we are going to purchase your domain". ;-)
"The smaller the penis of the situation, the more pretentious the form of expression." by John Romano.
DO NOT TRUST BUY-DOMAIN-HOSTING.COM THEY ARE DOMAIN APPRAISAL SCAMMERS!
[Admin: I checked the domain you mentioned and it does seem to forward to the same hosting company used by the scammers in the past. Thanks for your message! (hris ]
This post has 14 feedbacks awaiting moderation...
Leave a comment
| « Public Domain Registry: I Love You! | Oh No .Co! » |




